Congratulations to Madhu Roy, recipient of a So67 Scholars Travel Award to attend the APC 2017 Annual Meeting in Washington DC

Friday, June 2, 2017

Third year Pathology Resident, Dr.

Eduard Matkovic Awarded 2017 Sencer Scholarship

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Eduard Matkovic who was recently awarded a 2017 David J. Sencer Scholarship sponsored by the CDC and EIS.

Subhojit Roy receives UW2020: WARF Discovery Initiative Grant

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Subhojit Roy, MD, PhD, receives funding to examine therapeutic strategy for Alzheimer’s Disease.

Work of Thomas Raife and colleagues featured in ASBMB Newsletter

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Tom Raife, MD, and colleagues generated a model to predict when stored blood will go bad.

Angevine Fellows Join Pathology This Summer

Friday, April 7, 2017

The Department is pleased to welcome 3 Angevine Fellows this summer: Ivan Kaspruk, Jennifer Mirrielees and Jennifer Tran.

UW Pathologists Contribute to National Award Winning Series on Cancer Research

Friday, March 24, 2017

A Wisconsin State Journal series focusing on UW Carbone Cancer Center research has been awarded an AACR prize for Cancer Journalism.

Dan Kurtycz, MD, named Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology Educator of the Year!

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Congratulations to Dan Kurtycz, winner of this year’s L.C. Tao Educator of the Year award presented by the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology (PSC).

Discovery DIY Science. CSI: Discovery Edition

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Erin Brooks, Bob Corliss and Leah Schuppener shared their love of forensic science at an event sponsored by the Morgridge Institute for Research.

Campus Roundtable Features Dave O'Connor and Zika Virus Research

Friday, February 10, 2017

Dr. Dave O’Connor presided over the latest Campus Roundtable luncheon, making a presentation about his research on Zika virus.

Second Edition of Metabolic Diseases Delivered to Department

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Emeritus Dean of the UW Medical School, Philip M. Farrell, delivered a signed copy of his newly released Metabolic Diseases, 2nd edition to the department.

Professor Lynn Allen-Hoffmann Accepts 2016 Tibbetts Award at White House

Friday, February 3, 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Lynn Allen-Hoffmann, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, and the Stratatech Corporation on winning a prestigious Tibbetts Award.

Ying-Hsia Chu wins ICPI Travel Award for USCAP 2017 Annual Meeting

Monday, January 30, 2017

Congratulations to Ying-Hsia Chu (PGY2), recipient of a 2017 Trainee Travel Award from the Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI).

Zika Experimental Science Team receives supplemental funding for new research

Friday, October 28, 2016

The UW Zika Experimental Science Team (ZEST) led by David O’Connor continues their research on Zika virus, with results posted regularly on their open web portal at

Pathology Residents Win Awards at the National Association of Medical Examiners Annual Meeting

Friday, September 16, 2016

Congratulations to residents Leah Schuppener and Katrina Thompson for their award-winning platform presentations at the 50th annual meeting of NAME

Congratulations to Pathology Research Day Poster Session Winners!

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Congratulations to Kaitlin Sundling, Sarmi Basnet and Jeanette Shultz – this year’s winners of the Pathology Research Day poster session awards.