Second Edition of Metabolic Diseases Delivered to Department

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Emeritus Dean of the UW Medical School, Philip M. Farrell, delivered a signed copy of his newly released Metabolic Diseases, 2nd edition to the department.

Professor Lynn Allen-Hoffmann Accepts 2016 Tibbetts Award at White House

Friday, February 3, 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Lynn Allen-Hoffmann, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, and the Stratatech Corporation on winning a prestigious Tibbetts Award.

Ying-Hsia Chu wins ICPI Travel Award for USCAP 2017 Annual Meeting

Monday, January 30, 2017

Congratulations to Ying-Hsia Chu (PGY2), recipient of a 2017 Trainee Travel Award from the Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI).

Zika Experimental Science Team receives supplemental funding for new research

Friday, October 28, 2016

The UW Zika Experimental Science Team (ZEST) led by David O’Connor continues their research on Zika virus, with results posted regularly on their open web portal at

Pathology Residents Win Awards at the National Association of Medical Examiners Annual Meeting

Friday, September 16, 2016

Congratulations to residents Leah Schuppener and Katrina Thompson for their award-winning platform presentations at the 50th annual meeting of NAME

Congratulations to Pathology Research Day Poster Session Winners!

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Congratulations to Kaitlin Sundling, Sarmi Basnet and Jeanette Shultz – this year’s winners of the Pathology Research Day poster session awards.

Pathology Research Day a Success!

Friday, September 2, 2016
Pathology faculty, fellows, residents, graduate students and staff gathered for the 5th Annual Pathology Research Day on August 25, 2016.

Shelby O’Connor, PhD, receives $431K grant from NIAID

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Congratulations to Shelby O’Connor who received a new, 2-year R21 grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases of the National Institutes of Health.

Four New Faculty Join the Department

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine is pleased to welcome four new faculty, starting July 1, 2016: Derrick Chen, Rong Hu, Stephanie McGregor and Subhojit Roy.

Dave O’Connor’s research on Zika virus receives national attention

Friday, July 1, 2016

Congratulations to Dave O’Connor whose first paper on Zika virus research was just published in Nature Communications and who recently testified be

Matyas Sandor, PhD, receives 4-year, $1.5 million RO1 grant from NIH

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Matyas Sandor, PhD, Professor of Pathology, recently received an R01 from NIH to study the possibility that Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) inhibitors can lessen inflammation during tuberculosis disease.

Pathology Welcomes 4 New Residents Arriving June 24th!

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Four New Pathology Residents Arriving June 24th!

Igor Slukvin, MD, PhD, receives R01 and R24 NIH grants totaling $5.5 million

Monday, June 13, 2016

Igor Slukvin, MD, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, received both an R01 and an R24 award from the National Institutes of Health for his work on developing novel stem cell-based therapies.

Robert Corliss receives 2016 Dean’s Teaching Award

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Congratulations to Bob Corliss who received a SMPH Dean’s Teaching Award during a Medical Education Day ceremony on May 20th.

Medical Students Receive Pathology Department Awards

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Four medical students were recognized at the May 12, 2016 SMPH Honors & Awards Ceremony for their achievements and excellence in pathology!